Welcome to Laclede County Missouri

Laclede County lies in South West Missouri, and is bordered by Camden, Dallas, Webster, Wright, Texas, and Pulaski Counties.  Laclede County encompasses 768 square miles.  It was organized February 24, 1849 and was named after Pierre Laclede, founder of St. Louis, Missouri.

Decorative picture of a founding father statue in front of the courthouse

More About Laclede County

Lebanon, Missouri is the county seat for Laclede County. The county was organized February 24, 1849, and was named after Pierre Laclede, founder of St. Louis. The first permanent courthouse was constructed in 1851. In the 1870s, this building was sold for $50 and the records were moved to another building in Lebanon.

Another courthouse was not built until 1894. This building was destroyed by fire in 1920. The next courthouse was completed in 1925 at a cost of $72,428. Passage of a law enforcement sales tax in August 1994, allowed for the building of the current courthouse to comply with the “American Disabilities Act” and make office space more efficient. It is now known as the Laclede County Government Center.

Laclede County is a statutory third class county. The assessed valuation for Laclede county for 1960 was $20,234,001. The 2007 assessed valuation is $372,880,203. The population of Laclede County is 35,571 (2010 census) and has been growing at a rapid pace. Laclede county covers 770 square miles. Our county government provides administration, law enforcement, and judicial services.

The City of Lebanon is the largest municipality within Laclede County; other incorporated areas are: The City of Conway, The Village of Phillipsburg, The Town of Stoutland, The City of Richland, and the Village of Evergreen. All laws pertaining to county government come from actions of the state legislature.

Cares Act Dashboard

Comments are closed.